Publishing Date: 22.09.2015
Pages: 329
Genre(s): Humour; Nonfiction; Autobiography
Favourite Quote: “Normal is boring. Weird is better. Goats are awesome, but only in small quantities.”
Why I think it’s feminist: If Jenny Lawson makes one thing Cristal clear it’s that we don’t need to beat ourselves up for being imperfect, depressed or unable to take care of ourselves and others sometimes. Coming from a woman that’s feminist AF!
Rating:Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1

Mental illness is still something that most people find hard to talk to about.

Fortunately, blogger and #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson doesn’t.
And after reading Furiously Happy I won’t be either.

“Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you’d never guess because we’ve learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, ‘We’re all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.’ Except go back and cross out the word ‘hiding.”

No more hiding for me!
I admit I’m fucked up. I’m a constant worrier* and I know too well what suffering from anxiety means. I used to hide it, feeling ashamed by even telling the ones closest to me ‘bout it which only made matters worse. The promise of a positive take on anxiety and depression was the main reason I bought this book. **

*And warrior, too! HA! Damn, this one came flatter than I thought it would..
** Other reason was the happy raccoon amongst scattered glitter obviously. Who can say no to that?!

Two parts snort-laughing in public, one part crying my eyes out.

Furiously Happy is mostly stories from Lawson’s life which includes a lot of cats, a considerable amount of insomniac nights and hilarious arguments with her husband Victor.

“I’m allergic to latex and it makes me break out in a rash so most condoms are out for me because the last thing any of us wants is a vagina rash. The alternative is the ones made of sheepskin, but it always creeps me out because does that mean Victor and I are having sex with a sheep? A dead sheep, actually. So it’s bestiality and necrophilia. And a three-way, I think. I actually mentioned that to Victor and he immediately booked a vasectomy, which is sweet because it’s nice that he cares about me. He claimed it was less his caring and more “I’d rather have my nuts cut off than have to listen to you talk about having three-ways with dead sheep.” But now I have all these leftover condoms. They make great water balloons though and I bet they’d be really good for championship bubblegum-blowing competitions. Really chewy sheep bubblegum. That might be cheating. I don’t know the rules about bubblegum contests.”

I was reading this part riding the tube which didn’t keep me from laughing out. LOUD.
Guess, people think I totally lost it but if Jenny thaught me something it’s this:

“…there’s a certain pride and freedom that comes from wearing your unique bizarreness like a badge of honor.”

So f* those people on the tube.

The book didn’t only make me smile though. I cried a lot as well, because I felt fully understood and somewhat naked and vulnerable reading certain chapters.

“I can tell you that “Just cheer up” is almost universally looked at as the most unhelpful depression cure ever. It’s pretty much the equivalent of telling someone who just had their legs amputated to “just walk it off.” Some people don’t understand that for a lot of us, mental illness is a severe chemical imbalance rather just having “a case of the Mondays.” Those same well-meaning people will tell me that I’m keeping myself from recovering because I really “just need to cheer up and smile.” That’s when I consider chopping off their arms and then blaming them for not picking up their severed arms so they can take them to the hospital to get reattached.”

HAS SHE BEEN SITTING INSIDE MY BRAIN WRITING THIS?!
It’s the SAME for us constant worriers.
The next one telling me to stop worrying when anxiety hits me out of nowhere is going to suffer. YOU TRY TO STOP BREATHING! HOW ABOUT THAT?!

Messed up but still managing.

Furiously Happy shows that it’s possible* to constantly struggle with oneself and still be awesome and happy. I loved it a lot and just want to thank Jenny  for writing it. **
It’s one of those books that made me grow as a person, teaching me to stand up for myself.

Furiously Happy is for everyone who ever suffered/or suffers from mental illness or is holding out his/her hand to people who did/do.

*normal even
** Thanks Jenny. You rock!

 

 

