Publishing Date: 7.10.2015
Pages:
156
Genre(s):
Comic, Science Fiction, Dystopia
Favourite Quote:
“If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it.”
Why I think it’s feminist:
With its setting being a planet you get sent to if you are noncompliant to patriarchy Bitch Planet is all about feminism. It’s not perfect but cover’s a lot of important topics like selflove, race etc. I especially loved how it makes implicit discrimination against women visible.
Rating: Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1

 

Synopsis:
In a future, just a few years down the road in the wrong direction, a woman’s failure to comply with her patriarchal overlords will result in exile to the meanest penal planet in the galaxy. When the newest crop of fresh femmes arrive, can they work together to stay alive or will hidden agendas, crooked guards, and the deadliest sport on (or off!) Earth take them to their maker?

 

When I visited my favourite comic bookshop this cover just jumped at me.
IMG_20170312_073923

It was screaming pink, claiming to contain “girl gangs caged and engaged”.
“Are you women enough to survive?” the cover read.
I was intrigued and just had to have a copy of it.

Only when I got home, researching Bitch Planet on the internet, did I notice that there was much hype about this one. As I tend to not liking most of the hyped books or comics I grew sceptical and rightly so…

Don’t get me wrong: Bitch Planet is an awesome, refreshing read.
It brings together diverse, kickass women teaming up against the patriarchy.
Much like a dystopian, sci-fi Orange is the New Black Bitch Planet is confident, slick, and hilarious on multiple levels.  It shows immense frustration over sexism and paints a rather dark future for those who try to oppose it.

I especially loved the way in which the comic made implicit sexism and discrimination as well as structures of patriarchy visible. It’s starts with all the reasons women land on Bitch Planet. They get sent there if they are criminal but also if they love women or are fat in the eyes of patriarchy. Sadly, such a future is not hard to imagine, is it?

The ways of partriarchal structures nowadays is pictured especially well in “Hey Kids, Patriarchy!”

IMG_20170312_074211
“What every girl should know: Your vagina is disgusting. It smells like the underside of a kangaroo pouch and he doesn’t want to touch you because of the grossness. But thankfully, NEW brand douche, perfected by a leading gynecologist, gently cleanses and refreshes, making you feel feminine and special. Because what’s more special than a vage filled with vinegar and chemical daisies? Also available in SPICY CINNAMON TACO, for the girl adventurer.”

I laughed my ass of. At first.
When I realised how true this was and that commercials today try to sell us stuff just like that – only not that explicit – I suddenly felt very sad and disgusted.

I also really liked the characters in Bitch Planet – at least on the basic level.
Diverse women of colour with complex backgrounds, different sexual orientations, strong body images and voices. It seemed like a win but I soon felt like the authors where trying a little too much.

At times Bitch Planet felt like a stew with too many ingredients for me, making it hard to follow the story line and relating to those amazing characters.

Nevertheless, I’m going to read on because I of Bitch Planet’s unique take on patriarchy and its empowering view on body images. Never have I ever read a comic actively wanting its readers to celebrate a woman BECAUSE of her non-compliant body.

Have any of you read Bitch Planet yet?
What did you think?
Are you going to read on?

