Publishing Date: 7.2.2017
Pages: 528
Genre(s): YA; Fantasy; Dystopian
Favourite Quote: “Never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.“
Why I think it’s feminist: King’s Cage is from a female author featuring a female main character with mixed origins. Of course that doesn’t guarantee a feminist book (a diverse one at best) but there‘s more. We get to know an LGBTQ couple and our heroine doesn’t always get saved by men. King’s Cage makes a strong case for girlpower
Rating:Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1

 

 

Attention please:
*Please don’t read this review if you didn’t read Red Queen AND Glass Sword
** This Review is (nearly) spoiler free only concerning happenings in King’s Cage

Synopsis
“Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.
As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.
When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.”

I guess we were all speechless at the end of Glass Sword unable to wrap our minds around all the betrayal, self-sacrifice and pain. I recall sitting in my reading nook staring into the distance mumbling words like “devastating” and “no” over and over again. As I slowly recovered from a severe case of book hangover I started craving book three, making it my most anticipated read 2017.

I was happy to find out that King’s Cage starts off directly where Glass Sword left us. Not three months later, not with a different point of view, no Victoria Aveyard pressed her finger directly against that itchy spot in my heart and pulled me right back into her world of blood, fire and lightning.

While I loved Glass Sword for being full of action I enjoyed the slower pace of King’s Cage. You get to dive deeper into Maven’s twisted soul, explore Mares struggle with the death of her brother Shade and come to know important backstory about characters which you knew little about so far. The backstory isn’t delivered by Mare like we’re used to. Nope, we got different POV’s. I enjoyed them a lot especially cause one was of one of my favourite characters in the whole universe. Which one you ask?
spoilers.gif

Aveyard doesn’t only give more insight into the already existing universe she also extends it introducing new characters and places. Besides we also get glimpses at possible explanations for abilities and the formation of new bloods, a narrative strand I missed a bit in Glass Sword. I’ve got high hopes that Aveyard will be answering all those questions someday.

We can’t end a Review about the Red Queen Series without talking about romance of course. Let you tell me this one thing: There was lots of it. I especially enjoyed those short moments of happiness for a certain LGBTQ couple and even though I’m totally Team Cal I found myself hoping for a little Mare-Maven reunion.

The ending of King’s Cage is so much feels.
For both teams and lovers of the LGBTQ couple.

It’s been another ending leaving me mumbling in my reading nook but fortunately there will be a fourth book. Maybe this one will leave me without tears for once.

What did you think about King’s Cage?
Team Cal/Maven/LGBTQ?
Does anybody else have a thing for Ptolemus by the way?
Let us know in the comments!

