!WARNING! SPOILERS AHEAD !WARNING!

When I first heard rumours about a new Harry Potter story turned into a play I went bonkers.

Who would have thought that we would get to enter the magical world of the boy who lived so soon again?! Awesome! I didn’t quite like the idea of a prequel though so my enthusiasm sparked anew when Rowling announced that the story would mostly be about one of Harry Potters sons – Albus Severus Potter – and his difficult relationship with his father.

I immediately started saving money, desperately dropping coins into my piggy bank so I could with some luck travel to London and got to see the play someday.
Then Rowling dropped the next bomb: They would publish the script of the play as a book.
This was a dream come true for me even though I had some doubts concerning this new “book”. After reading “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” some of my concerns have proved well-founded, but so did my excitement.

As already stated “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” is a sequel to J.K. Rowlings original Harry Potter series. The play picks up where the last novel, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”, left off, and it flashes forward to Albus’s later years at Hogwarts.  Other than his father he is neither good nor popular at school so Hogwarts starts getting a nightmare for him.  Albus resents being the son of “the Chosen One,” and he’s increasingly filled with anger at the expectations placed on him. This leads to growing tensions between the two of them which finally conclude in Albus stealing a Time- Turner to right some of his father’s mistakes. The consequences are severe. . .

Although it is a sequel it is only based on J.K.Rowlings original ideas but written by the playwright Jack Thorne.  For me this was one reason for concern. Could Throne really resurrect the Wizarding World? Would it be as magical as if Rowling herself wrote it? Well, no it wasn’t. Thorne did a good job creating an exciting storyline which flows naturally and developing the character of Albus Potter and his best friend Scorpius Malfoy (A funny Malfoy?! YES PLEASE!!) , but in my opinion he didn’t stay true to the characters we already know.

While he turned Harry into a whiney adult who is afraid of pigeons (Really?! I know it was meant to make clear Harry is only human and afraid of things too but this is… I don’t even have words for it.), Ron is once again a side character for comic relief getting fat and joking like he never did anything else. Ginny Weasley, one of my favourite characters in the novels, was once a fierce and intelligent woman is now characterised as nothing more than mother and wife.
The only two “old” characters Thorne got “right” were Draco and Snape, even though they too got a new twist. Snape for example is finally shown as funny. It is a very dry sense of humour, which suits him perfectly. (I always knew you had it in you, Severus!)

So now I’ve complained a lot and it’s time to get to all the parts of the script I ADORED.
As I already mentioned I really liked Albus and Scorpion. Their characters are really well flashed out and their father issues make a pretty good base for their friendship. I loved seeing a Potter befriend a Malfoy and they have a great dynamic.

The whole plot was thought through and even though some readers complained about a certain time-turner issue I fully enjoyed the time travelling, not even noticing any logical mistakes.

I also really liked reading the story as a play. It presented the whole Harry Potter World in a new light and that’s the reason I feel Thorne should have distanced himsel from old characters, already known events etc. and stay original.  He seems to be great at that.

Last but not least I loved the fact that Draco Malfoy is no longer married. Don’t get me wrong, I pity him for losing his wife Asteria but that means there’s still the possibility he will call and marry me someday, am I right?!

All in all I really enjoyed reading “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” but it just can’t compare to the original series. It’s a fun read but doesn’t deserve the title “eight book in the Harry Potter series” for me. Therefore, I rate” Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” with 3 of 5 feathers.

Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1

Have any of you already read Harry Potter and the cursed child?
Have some of you even seen the play?
What did you think about it?
Tell us in the comments!

