If you like stand-up comedian Ellen DeGeneres and all you ever wanted to do is to have a chat with her this, dear friends, is your book! And even if you don’t know her well and have never seen her talk show like me, you will absolutely fall in love with her after reading this. Seriously… I’m not kidding!

It’s hard to describe what this book is really about. I would say it is about nothing in special and about everything in general. Ellen’s book is filled with the most random thoughts and it is beautiful. And FUN. It is so much fun that I found myself snorting into my breakfast and laughing out loud in public transport.

There are chapters about her career, some just are one sentence long, or not longer than a word. There is also one unit where Ellen is just making noise like badumbadum.
I especially enjoyed the chapter about how to be a supermodel.

“One: The Look
Always look like you are angry at the universe for making you too pretty.

Two: The Walk
Trot. Agressively, like you’re a horse that’s trying to avoid puddles.

Three: The Squint
Squint like someone is bouncing sunlight off their watch and directly into your eyes.

Four: The Pout
Get those lips out there. Purse your lips like you’re trying to sip out of a straw that someone keeps moving away from you.

Five: The Pose
Be mysterious. Always pose with one hand in your pocket as if to say, “I’m so mysterious, this hand in my pocket could be a hook hand. You don’t know.”

Yes. Ellen definitely knows how it’s done.
For her awesome humour and positive take on life I rate “Seriously … I’m kidding” with five of five feathers.

Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1Untitled-1

Have you read this novel yet?
Can you recommend other novels written by Ellen?
Don’t be shy and let us know in the comments!

