For all of you who don’t already know: A book haul is mostly a blog or blog post about a bigger amount of books you purchased during a certain time period.
You show pictures of all the shiny new covers, talk about all the new friends you’re going to meet and the adventures you’re going to witness while you try not to cry because of the horrible state of your bank account.

In January I bought a LOT of books. This was mostly because of some gift cards I got for Christmas. (You see, this time I don’t have to cry too hard…)

Published by Simon & Schuster UK

The Museum of Extraordinary Things – Alice Hoffman
This book was the first one I bought (and read) in January.
(The review is already on it’s way!)
The cover immediately grabbed my attention and when I found out it had a gothic background along with magic, mystery and murder I just HAD to take it home.

 

 

 

Published by HarperCollins

Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi
Ignite Me is the thrid book in Mafi‘s Shatter Me series.
The novel is about a teenage girl called Juliette whose touch is lethal to other human beings. The dominant regime tries to use her as a weapon and the series describes her struggle to escape, to accept herself for who she is and to find her place in the world.
I read the first two books last year and loved to hate them. I was extremely intrigued by the world Mafi created and adored some of her characters but I couldn’t get into the main character Julie – this girl was whining 24/7 – and I was more than irritated by her writing style. Crossed out sentences, I mean, really?!
Nevertheless I had to know how it would all end.


Published by G.P Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

The Wrath and the Dawn – Renée Ahdieh
There was a lot of positive talk about this young adult novel last year. Encouraged by the positive feedback I soon found myself reading the blurb of The Wrath and the Dawn and was completely thrilled. The story is about sixteen-year-old Shahrzad who seeks revenge for the murder of her best friend by the King of Kohrasan. To do that she has to marry him, the monster who takes on a new bride each night only to slay them before dawn.
Intrigued? I certainly am!

 

 

 

Published by Doubleday

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
I wanted to read this book since the ending of Harry Potter and finally got my hands on it.
The Night Circus is known to be as magical as the stories of our favourite wizard and had readers go bananas. (Bapple!) In good and in bad ways.
I am dying to find out what the hype is all about so I bought it.

 

 

 

Which books did you buy this month?
Have you already read some? Can you recommend any?
Let us know in the comments!

